SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot Shap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    css with dreamweaver

    anyone know when you create a css style in dreamweaver, what does all the other stuff do? like box, border, list, block??

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They let you define properties for selectors in those categories...

  3. #3
    Back in Action Winged Spider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    outside my mind
    Posts
    900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Dreamweaver writes CSS the same way they did 2 versions ago. I don't recommend using Dreamweaver 4 for CSS.

    CSS is easy and it's small. 20 different properties is all your ever going to need. For now...


  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    45
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Winged Spider
    I don't recommend using Dreamweaver 4 for CSS.
    Yeah, I've arrived at the same conclusion the hard way

    Do you know how well CSS [especially positioning] functions in DreamWeaver templates?

  5. #5
    busy Steelsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Houston, Tejas; Future Capital of the World
    Posts
    2,474
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use DW4 for most of my web designing, except for CSS. I went through and spent some time to learn the fundamentals of CSS and how it works, and then got Tpstyle to do the "grammar" of it, and import that into DW.
    Occassionally, when the CSS task is minor, I'll use DW's built in CSS editor.

    As for templates, I avoid them. Instead I make a "temp.html" as my basis and now break it up into sections to be input in pages with <!--#include virtual="header.txt"--> and footer.txt and menu.txt, etc. It works quite well and CSS travels through it with no problem. One example I just finished converting (although the site is still being altered in other ways) is: http://www.prep-tek.com/
    Brian Poirier
    SunStockPhoto: Stock Photos, Fine Art Photos, Event Photography

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict TegSkywalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    214
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you want a great CSS app try out TopStyle from http://www.bradsoft.com

    You can even set that as your default CSS editor in Dreamweaver 4/UltraDev 4 if you like.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have to agree with the other recommendations for TopStyle. There is a TopStyle Lite (or was) that use to be free, this may not be the case now.

    The syntax produced by TopStyle is excellent, it can also be set to open Style Sheets from the Web and for finding dead styles in your .css files in relation to a site.

    Money well spent. Also, spend sometime at w3schools within the tutorials on CSS. An absolutely incredible resource that someone posted in response to a question I posted here a while ago.

    There is no question that time spent learning CSS is time very well spent.
    Go Leafs Go!!!!!!!!

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    420
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    whats the matter with dreamweaver's css?

    I dont use it much but why dont you like it?
    Wavelan

  9. #9
    busy Steelsun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Houston, Tejas; Future Capital of the World
    Posts
    2,474
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Wavelan
    whats the matter with dreamweaver's css?

    I dont use it much but why dont you like it?
    It's clumsy and prone to sytax errors.
    Also it likes to add in it's own variables sometimes. (for instance: I tried using it to set borders on just the left and top, it decided to make default borders on the right and bottom in black.)
    Brian Poirier
    SunStockPhoto: Stock Photos, Fine Art Photos, Event Photography

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    420
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok I see what you mean

    They have a lot of cool options available too tho eh

    filter and all those things
    Wavelan

  11. #11
    ********* Genius Mike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,458
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had a trial of Dreamweaver4 and noticed that some of my css didnt work correctly. It wasn't anything hard to fix, it just reminded me of frontpage: changes the code without warning
    Mike
    It's not who I am underneath, but what I do that defines me.

  12. #12
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    use TopStyle that is quite good, other than that write it by hand

    http://www.chami.com/html-kit/

    that can be used as the default editor for dreamweaver

  13. #13
    SitePoint Evangelist azizur_rahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    502
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I dont like the formating of Dreamweaver CSS

    The new MX version does that best formating for CSS you should try the MX. its the best.... I really love the IntelliSence feature it saves me from making typying error... plus save me from typing a lot.


    Azizur Rahman
    Web Application Developer

  14. #14
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I cannot install dreamweaver mx as it keeps downloading a corrupt file

    anyone else had this problem?

  15. #15
    SitePoint Evangelist azizur_rahman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    502
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    check out the Macromedia forum for that error.. its been reported before...

    may be its something to do with CRC and poor network connection...
    Azizur Rahman
    Web Application Developer

  16. #16
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    whats crc, i had a bug in that and didn't know what it was, its been happeneing with a certain installation package (the one that dw mx uses)

  17. #17
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    420
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    CRC = Cyclic Redundancy Check

    Sorry sudden urge
    Wavelan


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •