SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Query Regarding page load

    On accessing my website www.dealsghost.com for the first time
    page does not loads correctly i.e middle pane comes under left menu panel (where I have car,creditcard,others menus) but then If i refresh it loads correctly.
    This is for all pages(they all have same structure)
    Is it because of wrong HTML structure or low bandwidth?
    Please suggest something.
    Thanks in Advance
    Flight Deals and Discounts for India
    http://www.dealsghost.com/flight-discounts-offers.html

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It may have something to do with one or more of the 79 errors - always make sure the coding is valid before trying to chase down any rendering / performance issues.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    but then why it reloads correctly on refreshing?
    In my hosting reports I get lot of "206 Partial Content" HTTP Status code
    So is it because of this?
    And thank you for pointing out those validation issues, I will fix those also.
    Regards
    Flight Deals and Discounts for India
    http://www.dealsghost.com/flight-discounts-offers.html

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru cyjetsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    814
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sometimes if your server or internet connection is slow, some css/html code won't be loaded and the page render will be messed up, I suppose then when you refreshed it, you got the full load. This happens to everyone sometimes.

    If it happened once, don't worry about it..... but if it keeps happening every first time, then I have no idea.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As your site would seem to be table-based and there are elements in incorrect positions between various table tags, and possibly missing closing tags, then it is quite possible that the browser is unable to determine size or placement of various elements the first time through. On refresh, it would use what it already knows in the cache, and this may be enough to allow the correct calculations to be made.

    Browser behaviour on errors is undefined, so it is pointless looking for answers until the code is valid and that can be ruled out if the problem persists.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok thanks a lot tonight i will try to fix all such errors and then will check.
    tx
    Flight Deals and Discounts for India
    http://www.dealsghost.com/flight-discounts-offers.html

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru cyjetsu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    814
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had no idea a browser could make such corrections from cache by just refreshing the page.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i fixed all html errors and validated it still i was getting same error...
    On refresh page is loading properly...
    any hints?
    Bandwidh issues?
    Flight Deals and Discounts for India
    http://www.dealsghost.com/flight-discounts-offers.html

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    just now figured out in IE 6 it works fine but in Firefox 3 it shows properly only after refreshing...Don't know why.
    No idea about other browsers

    TIA
    Flight Deals and Discounts for India
    http://www.dealsghost.com/flight-discounts-offers.html

  10. #10
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Jaipur, India
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I check your website here in both browsers, and it is working fine.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Site seems to load fine first go for me with IE6 & 7 and FF2 & 3.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you both for responses and efforts.
    Here in India It doesn't loads well on FireFox in first attempt and i get lot of "206 Partial Content" HTTP Status code
    So may be something to do with bandwidh.
    Again Thanks a lot for your time and help
    Regards
    Flight Deals and Discounts for India
    http://www.dealsghost.com/flight-discounts-offers.html

  13. #13
    SitePoint Enthusiast D3niss3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    RP
    Posts
    49
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Tried both with IE6 & Firefox 3 and your site loads fine.

    You might have cached the page?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No page is not cached....
    Can it be something to do with speed?
    Because in India at most of the the times it loads well second time on Firefox.
    I have checked at few places my office pc, home laptop and at friend's place.
    Regards
    Flight Deals and Discounts for India
    http://www.dealsghost.com/flight-discounts-offers.html


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •