SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    layers within tables

    Hi, I'm having problems with photos that I have placed with a layer. The layer shifts dramatically when I enlarge the screen area from 800 x 400. I have tried to copy and paste the layer into a table to prevent it from shifting but in Dreamweaver it doesn't seem to allow you to do this. Is there another way of preventing the photos from shifting?

    The site is www.imbamatombo.co.zw - if you take a look at this you will see my problem. It displays fine at 800 x 600 but any larger and it is thrown out.

    Any advice is greatly welcome.

  2. #2
    Bimbo With A Brain! silver trophy Saz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Kent, United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kerry, I don't use Dreamweaver, so have no experience in working with it's 'layers' but my solution to the problem you posted here may well solve this problem too.
    Saz: Naturally Blonde, Naturally Dizzy!
    No longer Editor of the Community Crier.

    Don't mind me, I'm having a BLONDE moment!

  3. #3
    .net install meltdown
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    View Ridge
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try using relative positioning for the <div id="layer1"> instead of absolute positioning. You'll have to experiment a bit to get it just right but that should solve your problems.

    HTH

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What's wrong with just using this?
    Code:
    <div align="center">
      <p>
        <img src="images/combo/exterior.jpg" width="150" height="108" border="0" name="Image1" alt="Imba Matombo Exterior">
        <img src="images/combo/pool.jpg" width="130" height="108" border="0" name="Image2" alt="View of Swimming Pool">
        <img src="images/combo/lounge.jpg" width="150" height="108" border="0" name="Image3" alt="The Lounge">
        <img src="images/combo/bedroom3.jpg" width="121" height="108" border="0" name="Image4" alt="Stone Lodge">
      </p>
      <p>
        <font face="Times New Roman, Times, serif" color="#000000"><i>
          Walking into Imba Matombo is like entering a giant box of crayons  big colour 
          everywhere  the variety is endless: generous and vibrant flower arrangements, 
          brilliantly coloured pictures on the walls, bold and luxurious furnishings.
        </i></font>
      </p>
    </div>

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi thanks for the advice. I think the relative positioning is the best route to take. Please can you tell me what relative positioning is! Am a bit clueless...and how will my code change if it is currently: <div id="Layer1" align="center" style="position:absolute; left:177px; top:132px; width:552px; height:32px; z-index:1"> Obviously the absolute changes to relative but how does the rest of it work?

  6. #6
    .net install meltdown
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    View Ridge
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, I think Matt's recommendation is the way to go.

    First delete the <div id="layer1">...</div> part then paste in Matt's code.

    Should fix you up.

  7. #7
    Non-Member Forlorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    1,132
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try not to change your resolution settings inside dreamweaver after you have already put in all your content.

    Just re-design it and keep it to one resolution.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    65
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, Matt's code works....however, still a few more teething problems. Although the images don't shift with a higher resolution, I now have quite large white spaces between each photo. Is there a way of controlling this? And the other thing is, orginally my photos swapped every few seconds, how do I do this now?

    Thanks for all your help so far


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •