Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm New To Web Designing and need help.

Hello people,
    OK I've bin so confused lately.I chose Web Design as a career and I'm very interested in it but I'm having trouble finding out what i should learn,what to use(tools) and what courses to take in college .I'm going to SCAD (Savannah College Of Art and Design).I know the basics of using HTML and CSS So can anyone like help me.Also would Adobe CS4 Web Premium be a good thing to use??

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    CS4 is a great tool, but I wouldn't rush out an buy a copy. The best thing you can do is create a few sites of your own. The experience will be far more beneficial than anything else you can so.

Some technologies you'll want to become familiar with:
    HTML
    CSS
    Javascript
    PHP or .NET
    MySQL or SQL

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tailslide's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You don't need to spend a lot of money on tools - use freebie HTML editors such as Crimson Editor, PSPad or HTML-kit. I still use these. You have much more control over what you're doing - or that is to say, if you're using a WYWIWYG editor you'd have to use it in design view to ensure a good result - which means there's little point in spending the money in the first place.
    Little Blue Plane Web Design
    Blood, Sweat & Rust - A Land Rover restoration project

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy bluedreamer's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    First step is to learn xHTML and CSS inside out so you can hand code without the use of a WYSIWYG. Everything on the web revolves around these two things and are the foundation of everything you will do - if you don't know them you'll never get very far.