SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot GregShasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    atlanta ga
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    window.status madness

    Hi,
    Been having a huge(relatively) problem with a simple script. I can't get my status bar to do what I want. I have been using:
    {
    window.status='blah blah blah blah';
    }
    on all my sites but for this one it just won't work.
    If I have some javascript on my page that gives me a 'done but with errors' message will that make the status bar function inoperable? Any suggestions will be great.

    thx,
    Greg
    'I guess that my ambition was to be a bum'--robert mitchum

  2. #2
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Which one?
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot GregShasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    atlanta ga
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I wasn't real clear above(frustration has set in) but anyway, I guess I was wondering if there is either 1)a fool proof script and b)if you have some other javascripts that are giving your page the 'done but with errors' message does that 'mess' up status bar scripts?

    thx,
    Greg
    noter did you mean which site?
    'I guess that my ambition was to be a bum'--robert mitchum

  4. #4
    . Ruchir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,863
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i didnt get u completely. but if its a problem relating to getting a message into status bar. here it is-

    Code:
    <script language=JavaScript>
    window.status='blah blah blah';
    </script>
    hope i get u by what u want to ask
    Peace.

  5. #5
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    PHP Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    window.status='blah blah blah';
    </script> 
    PHP Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    window.defaultStatus='blah blah blah';
    </script> 
    the one below is not recommended, as it conflicts with usability
    PHP Code:
    <a href="http://www.sitepoint.com" onmouseover="window.status='hello'; return true;">mouseover status</a

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot GregShasta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    atlanta ga
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thx guys problem now solved.
    Thx again,
    Greg
    'I guess that my ambition was to be a bum'--robert mitchum


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •