SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Using images as background - is it bad?

I am designing a website and for the home page I have created boxes in Fireworks for each little section. They are small 400 x 300 px, 300 x 300 px and smaller for example. Since I would like for my site to load as fast as possible, and would like for my site to be SEO-friendly, should I refrain from using the images and just try to create the boxes myself using CSS? The boxes (gifs) are set as the background for each div then I type text on top. Is that bad for SEO? I'm a newbie at this and want to make sure I am building my site the right way. I've been reading tons and tons of books but so many questions keep popping up and then I keep questioning myself as I design the site. The reason I have created the boxes in Fireworks is because I wanted them to have a certain texture and look which goes along with my site. But if it is a bad thing to use images as the background then I will try to recreate them in CSS. I'm not sure how but I can look that up. Thanks.

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Black Max's Avatar
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The short answer is "not necessarily." I'd have to see an example to say anything concrete. But others may have a different opinion. My concern would be more for style and ease of use, and avoiding looking like a site designed in 1999.

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If the images are just for visual enhancement then they should be backgrounds applied via css - they have no place in the html. Depending on the content, single box images may present a problem when the user resizes text though.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)