SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Newbie - Changed MySQL password, need help desperately

    First of all I am new - so I know there is a lot of this I probably shouldn't have done, but if anyone can help I would be so appreciative. I am developing a Joomla site on my local host. I changed my root password from localhost. Then I couldn't access through phpmyadmin. So I freaked out and made a copy of the data folder and the joomla site folder. Then I reinstalled xampp to reset MySql. I can now access mysql again, but when I try to copy back in the data folder nothing happens. I think I could get back to where I was yesterday right after I changed the password if it is easier, or I can go from here. Fingers crossed someone might can help. Is there a way to save this?? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

  2. #2
    reads the ********* Crier silver trophybronze trophy longneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tampa, FL (US)
    Posts
    9,854
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    please be more specific than "nothing happens".
    Check out our new Industry News forum!
    Keep up-to-date with the latest SP news in the Community Crier

    I edit the SitePoint Podcast

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What I did was just a fresh install of xampp including MySql. Then with my extended knowledge, I didn't know what to do. I just replaced the data files with my old ones, but it did not update those tables to phpmyadmin. I don't know what to do to get those tables back in my new install??

  4. #4
    reads the ********* Crier silver trophybronze trophy longneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tampa, FL (US)
    Posts
    9,854
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    did you move just the files in the data folder, or all of the folders, too?
    Check out our new Industry News forum!
    Keep up-to-date with the latest SP news in the Community Crier

    I edit the SitePoint Podcast

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I've made some progress. I don't know how familiar you are with Joomla, but....
    I have xampp reinstalled and running, joomla is reinstalled and functioning. I can see all my tables in phpmyadmin. I have put all my old files in the directory for Joomla. So the database is there, the content is there, I can access both of these. Yet, the site only shows a blank default template. I feel as though I need to link the content back to the database somehow to make it recognize the existing content??? Thanks so much for all help, I was really scared I had lost a lot of work......

  6. #6
    reads the ********* Crier silver trophybronze trophy longneck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Tampa, FL (US)
    Posts
    9,854
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    this sounds more like a joomla problem than a database problem. moving thread...
    Check out our new Industry News forum!
    Keep up-to-date with the latest SP news in the Community Crier

    I edit the SitePoint Podcast


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •