SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello.. I am a webmaster of a large fansite for Savage Garden. A danish one, cause I live there folks!
    Well.. I have created a quite sophisticated logon system for the site. It is based in Java Script, where the user enters a name and a password in a form. It is prosessed like this: If (username) = (myusename) && (password) = (mypasword) then open the page, otherwise reject the user..
    BUT! I have to exclude all Netscape users because Netscape writes an error: "parent.info.logform. has no propperties."
    I must tell that the values are processed through a hidden frame in the top wich I use for storing the values, so the different pages inside can call them up later.. I refuse to use cookies for security reasons!
    Please tell me why Netscape does this!!

Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You refuse to use cookies for security reasons yet post all the userids and passwords in a hidden frame that will take any one with a little bit of knowledge ten seconds to get into?

I find that a little hard to believe. Anyway you currently have no security. I would look into using either .htaccess files or a CGI (PERL, PHP, ASP) solution instead of Javascript. Javascript is not secure in the least. One look at the source code and its all blown apart.

------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Forums Administrator
    Digital Magician Magazine - MetaQuark Creations (Coming Soon)
    sitepoint@digitalmagician.com

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cookies don't pose a security risk. Unless they can be found by domains other than who set them, they are harmless security-wise.

They in a way be used to invade your privacy but they can't hold the user's credit card number, for example, without them typing it in.