SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How do you choose a web designer or a firm?

Other than a nice portfolio and sweet talks, what clicks in your mind that this guy is the man!

Visible Ninja bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    While I don't go out and actually choose a web designer (I am a web designer), I find that the biggest factor my clients seem to hinge on is how likely I am to "own" the project. They want to have input, but they understand that there is a reason they hired me.

My best guess is that they are looking for someone who will allow them to influence the process but they don't want to make every decision.
    TAKE A WALK OUTSIDE YOUR MIND.

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy bluedreamer's Avatar
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If someone asks why they should use me to build their site I tell them to contact some of my customers directly. I've no problem with that, and as a customer looking for a designer you can get first hand feedback.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    to me its all about communication. its very hard and frustrating to communicate through email because it can take up to a day to get a response. i would suggest making sure that they are able to talk through instant messenger or on the phone before you hire them.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As a web designer, I think my clients like that there's no BS when I meet with them the first time and explain to them how I do things. I tell them that my business is to make their business money, and I use my portfolio and past clients to back it up.
    Chris Reynolds
    Crey Design
    Arizona Web Design
    Personal Blog

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)