SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Slicing a .PSD

  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard Blake Tallos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio.
    Posts
    1,511
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Slicing a .PSD

    I'm trying to slice a layout.I'm having a hard time slicing it well i tried and I'm getting to many images in my folder.I sliced the header the footer and the nav bar and my Divider in the middle of my layout.I have a layer for Brushes that is located at the bottom left of my Footer.When i slice my Footer it gives me differennt images that my brushes are on.Im thinking i might have to set it as a backround images or something.If anyone has any suggestions on what i can do about this or can properly slice my layout it would help me out alot.I can send the PSD file to you.I attached the image.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Blake Tallos - Software Engineer for Sanctuary
    Software Studio, Inc. C# - Fanatic!
    http://www.sancsoft.com/


  2. #2
    Keep Moving Forward gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Shaun(OfTheDead)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Trinidad
    Posts
    3,746
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What if you flatten before slicing ?




    Trying to fill the unforgiving minute
    with sixty seconds' worth of distance run.

    Update on Sitepoint's Migration to Discourse

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try what shaun said first.

    if you want to keep it neat, Maybe Put it all in one root folder? select the folder and slice (i've never had this problem personally so im not to sure)

  4. #4
    The Mind's I ® silver trophy Dark Tranquility's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    KSA - UAE
    Posts
    9,457
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I always save a back up copy of the layered PSD and then work with a layered version that I will flatten completely sometimes or merge some layers together some other times etc in order to slice it easily and rapidly

  5. #5
    Keep Moving Forward gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Shaun(OfTheDead)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Trinidad
    Posts
    3,746
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or you could do what I do and use the Rectangular Marquee and the Guides to select parts of the design, then Ctrl + Shift + C to "Copy Visible". Create a new document (Ctrl + N), paste (Ctrl + V), then Save for Web (Ctrl + Alt + Shift + S).

    Though it's a bit tedious, I do that for two reasons.

    Sometimes flattening can change the way things look and the way layers interact. Sometimes. Rarely.

    I don't use Photoshop's generated HTML, so I'd have to make my images to the precise sizes that I wrote in my mark-up.

    That's me, though. For most normal people, it's easier to just slice and use Photoshop's Save for Web.




    Trying to fill the unforgiving minute
    with sixty seconds' worth of distance run.

    Update on Sitepoint's Migration to Discourse

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard Blake Tallos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio.
    Posts
    1,511
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Shaun(OfTheDead) View Post
    Or you could do what I do and use the Rectangular Marquee and the Guides to select parts of the design, then Ctrl + Shift + C to "Copy Visible". Create a new document (Ctrl + N), paste (Ctrl + V), then Save for Web (Ctrl + Alt + Shift + S).

    Though it's a bit tedious, I do that for two reasons.

    Sometimes flattening can change the way things look and the way layers interact. Sometimes. Rarely.

    I don't use Photoshop's generated HTML, so I'd have to make my images to the precise sizes that I wrote in my mark-up.

    That's me, though. For most normal people, it's easier to just slice and use Photoshop's Save for Web.





    Either do i. Thats why i do my markup and CSS before i even put Graphics on my site. Actually i realise that i made my header to big. I need to crop out some portions of it. Heres the markup and CSS for my new site.
    http://blakeanthony.net/test.html
    Blake Tallos - Software Engineer for Sanctuary
    Software Studio, Inc. C# - Fanatic!
    http://www.sancsoft.com/


  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict KelliShaver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Morehead, KY
    Posts
    308
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Shaun, I do the same thing. I think the end result is few images and less clutter.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    47
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is slicing in PSD can output an HTML DIV?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard Blake Tallos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio.
    Posts
    1,511
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Problems is fixed This thread can be closed. Thank you all for your support.
    Blake Tallos - Software Engineer for Sanctuary
    Software Studio, Inc. C# - Fanatic!
    http://www.sancsoft.com/


  10. #10
    Keep Moving Forward gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Shaun(OfTheDead)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Trinidad
    Posts
    3,746
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by BlakeAnthony
    Problems is fixed This thread can be closed. Thank you all for your support.
    Cool. How did you solve your problem ?

    Quote Originally Posted by StylizE
    Is slicing in PSD can output an HTML DIV?
    Not as far as I know. I think it only generates HTML tables.




    Trying to fill the unforgiving minute
    with sixty seconds' worth of distance run.

    Update on Sitepoint's Migration to Discourse

  11. #11
    The Mind's I ® silver trophy Dark Tranquility's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    KSA - UAE
    Posts
    9,457
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    General rule: Never trust any software to generate your HTML or your CSS code


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •