SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

About website design.

I am still a newbie website designer here:

I have finished studying html and css. but the problem is i can't create a good website using their capabilities. Just plain text websites. I want to add a feature where my visitors could create an account and save the data on my server.

What is the next things i need to learn besides photoshop/photo editing? I want that to help my problem about accounts creation.

Hope someone helps me. I can create a windows-based program but it consumes my time developing it. I want a ready made language or something.

SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For that you'll need knowledge in at least one server-side programming language and also some skills in SQL and database design. If this is meant for a serious enterprise you'll need a decent understanding of security issues, too.
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Basically what you want to achieve is a database driven website whereby information is stored on the web server then a script is used to retrieve the information.

For this, as a very grateful owner of the book I would recommend:
    Build Your Own Database Driven Website Using PHP & MySQL

This book has been invaluable to me since I took the decision to learn a server side language (I was at the same point then as you are now).

There are numerous server-side programming languages you can pick however I did find grasping PHP quite straightforward and logical... and very rewarding when you execute your first script that works!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You would need to get heavily into PHP and MySQL to do what you want to do. But if you