SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Search Portal Niche sites? Are they dead?

I've been thinking about building a site similar to:

www.seopage.com

I'd like to hear any opinions, especially if anyone has ever operated such a site.

My main questions are:

1) How would you get traffic to such a site? (being that the site itself has very little content?) embed into a blog?

2) Would it be better to create a site that searches the entire web or a high paying niche (such as insurance, etc.)?

3) recommend any existing PHP based script to hit the ground running? Or should I stick with WordPress and create my own solution from there? (I am a good programmer).

Thanks! I'll be around for some back and forth on this one!

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Black Max's Avatar
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This won't help you much, but personally I hate those kinds of sites and avoid them like they're rabid.

#titanic {float:none} silver trophy
    Mentioned
    245 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Yes, I do too. They annoy me sooooo much. When I go to a site, I expect to find content. If I find something like this, then I tend to think that the site is under construction or that the guy just lost interest on it.

I guess you can make it look more interesting, like a directory. Then I think I would go for a niche.

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tailslide's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh I'm glad someone else has said it! To me they seem to pollute Google - lists of lists of list etc etc ad infinitum.
    Little Blue Plane Web Design
    Blood, Sweat & Rust - A Land Rover restoration project

Mentioned
    245 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)