User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Are courses in web design useful?

As someone with a day job that isn't totally to do with web design as such, I've been considering doing some evening and weekend distance learning courses with a university (UK) to develop my knowledge and skills in different web design practices and technologies. It's not the qualification I'm interested in per se - more the learning of techniques and developing the ability to apply them.

Reading up on available courses and the amount of time they take to complete (especially given the pace at which techniques change and go out of date) has made me wonder whether I'd be better investing in a few decent up-to-date books and working through them instead.

Would be interesting to hear how people got their knowledge in web design.

Have you done formal training? What course did you study? Was it useful?

Or are you self-taught? How did you decide what areas to study? What materials did you invest in?

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Mentioned
    16 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    The industry moves so rapidly that I would consider it a waste to learn outdated methods at some school. Your time would be better spent in the latest books in my opinion.

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tailslide's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree with oddz - generally these courses are not worthwhile. I did a few but stopped when I'd have to re-learn frames to complete a course! I've found books and internet forums plus tutorial sites much more useful.
    Little Blue Plane Web Design
    Blood, Sweat & Rust - A Land Rover restoration project

SitePoint Wizard
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)