SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Can I use Google Maps to show the current position of a boat on the Atlantic?

Hi,

One of my clients has asked me to do a website for his son who is about to row across the Atlantic for a fundraiser.

One of the things we would like to do is display where they are using Google Maps (or similar). They will have GPS equipment on board and will possibly also have internet access.

Does anyone know how to use Google Maps to automatically show their position? And maybe even their 'path' from the start of the journey?

Please bear in mind I'm not a programmer but a web designer so I can do the basic stuff but not the advanced API programming if needed...

Thanks!

Konrad

SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Should be pretty easy--just place a GPoint at the Latitude and Longitude of the boat.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    But Will it then automatically track the position of the boat during the trip?

Thanks,

Konrad

SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not unless you update said Lat/Lng as the boat moves. One could "predict" their position using some trig, but I'm not certain how accurate that would be.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So you think there's no way of automatically updating their position and showing where they are?

Thanks,

Konrad

SitePoint Addict chestertondevelopment's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could have them enter their current position (read from the GPS) in a form every few hours or something which could then update their position on the Google map.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Cool, thanks for the suggestion.

Konrad

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)