SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Sesame Street Iimitk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    662
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Photoshop layers

    Photoshop skills are really easily forgotten whenever you get busy with something else for a while!

    When I usually want to create any new page element area (header, footer, container, sidebar, etc.) for a page mockup, my approach is as follows:


    1. I hit the Background layer on the layer palette.
    2. Ctrl + M to choose the rectangular marquee tool.
    3. Draw my layer shape; e.g. header, navbar, footer, sidebar, etc.
    4. Ctrl + J for creating a new layer via copy.

    Any alternative to this primitive approach? It works fine with me when the background layer is transparent but when it has any color, the new created layer seems to cut from it even though I created it via copy not cut.

    If I tried to create a new layer from anywhere else I get the message "Could not make a new layer from the selection because the selected area is empty"! I don't get that message at all!

    Help!
    Imagination is more important than knowledge. - Einstein

  2. #2
    Night Elf silver trophybronze trophy Varelse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    eu
    Posts
    5,967
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I usually use Ctrl+Shift+C to make sure all visible selected area is copied and then pasted.

    Quote Originally Posted by simsim View Post
    Ctrl + M to choose the rectangular marquee tool.
    "M" is enough here, no need for Ctrl.
    FreelanceDaddy - freelancer's personal advisor
    █ Guide and advice for freelancers starting their career
    █ Over 1000 projects posted on freelance markets every day
    █ One-stop resource for online freelancing

  3. #3
    Sesame Street Iimitk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    662
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Varelse View Post
    I usually use Ctrl+Shift+C to make sure all visible selected area is copied and then pasted.
    I don't know what is the use of that! Care to elaborate?

    As a side-note, I just figured out that setting the layer blend mode to "Multiply" seems to do the trick!
    Imagination is more important than knowledge. - Einstein

  4. #4
    [Biped] LJK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    In My Jammies
    Posts
    761
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi -
    I like to create folders for different parts of a site layout,
    then make a new layer and use the shape tool [instead of marquee]
    to draw a rect. - then turn the path to a selection and fill w/
    the color I want. Later, if I need to change it, I use a Layer Style.

    When you see "could not create a new...because empty..." msg., it
    means you've chosen to copy part of a layer that has nothing in it.

    Have fun,
    El
    F-Fox 2.0 :: WIN :: el design :: US

  5. #5
    Keep Moving Forward gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Shaun(OfTheDead)'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Trinidad
    Posts
    3,746
    Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by simsim
    I don't know what is the use of that! Care to elaborate?
    Sometimes, in Photoshop, things look a particular way because of the interactions between different layers, their opacities, their blending modes, etc.

    If you were to just select everything and copy from one layer (Ctrl + C), you'd only copy the information from that one layer.

    But if you wanted to copy what is actually visible across all the layers within a selection, you'd have to use Varelse's Ctrl + Shift + C.

    Try it yourself and you'll get an idea of what I'm talking about.




    Trying to fill the unforgiving minute
    with sixty seconds' worth of distance run.

    Update on Sitepoint's Migration to Discourse

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Bangladesh
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello,
    I use Ctrl+Shift+C .


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •