SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 12 of 12

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    How to do this NAV BAR

    I'd like to build a nav menu like this one.
    http://www.pint.com/
    Can anyone help please?
    [I use Dreamweaver CS3]

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That looks like a flash menu.

    If you're using DW, you could probably use the show/hide layer behaviour attached to the top navigation link so that when mousing over this link/button, the layer shows as a dropdown.

    Nadia

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if it was Flash i believe it would say so in the right mouse menu.

    i have done drop down and flyout menus but thought this was a little different.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is that Nadia from the 'Gong?
    If so, time we wuz in bed. )

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    Is that Nadia from the 'Gong?
    If so, time we wuz in bed. )
    So I'm not the only one that stays up this late
    am off to get some zzzzz's right now.

    PS: Intrigued - as to the 'from the 'Gong'... did I let something slip? :-D
    PSS: I'll see if I can find out how it's done btw.....


    Nadia

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Kent
    Posts
    1,921
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there are about 16 javascript references in the source code...

  7. #7
    Ripe Tomatos silver trophybronze trophy Rayzur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,174
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It has a javascript behavior to it by the way it drops down and a slight delay in the roll up after a hover off. The side menu also has a javascript behavior to it.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Black Max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,029
    Mentioned
    12 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Javascript-driven navigation...I'm riding the designer we're working with like a mule over his JS-driven navigation. Isn't that a problem with functionality, accessibility, and SEO, or am I mired in 2003?

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Augusta, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,191
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    4 Thread(s)
    Depends if it degrades gracefully. I would say its less of a problem now than it was a few years ago. Just make sure that for those using stone age browsers or have javascript turned off the menu is still accessible.

    I doubt you'll be able to implement this with lone Dreamweaver. You'll almost certainly need someone who knows javascript to create this effect. It shouldn't be very difficult in the eyes of someone who knows javascript maybe two hours max.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    A possibility:
    yui accordion menu
    http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/animation/

    or one of the other such libraries - I wasn't going to through all the js to find out :-) I'll leave that to you if you really want to use something like this.

    Example:
    http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/examp...im_source.html
    ------

    I asked a couple of developer friends who are in the know with js, menus and such animating libraries:

    "It is just a div that is styled with a small height with the nested UL (sub
    menus) hidden via display:none
    When the user hovers over the top level links that div gets a different
    height value (from 45px to 148px) with some sliding effect and nested ULs
    are turned on (display:block).

    It's not very accessible though. "

    ---- and another comment ----
    Doesn't work very well on (FF3/MacOS X.) Lots of flashing and
    partial refreshes. Headache-inducing.
    -----------

    Nadia

  11. #11
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Sydney Australia
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kind of you to take the trouble Nadia.
    Thank you.
    As to the other, I was in touch with you a few years ago and wondered if you were the same Nadia.
    You are still as helpful as ever mate.

    Power to you.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by rockerz View Post
    Kind of you to take the trouble Nadia.
    Thank you.
    No problems, glad to help :-)

    As to the other, I was in touch with you a few years ago and wondered if you were the same Nadia. You are still as helpful as ever mate.
    Power to you.
    Thank you! :-)

    Nadia


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •