SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question chkrootkit < Urgent need : How do I execute in cpanel?

I'm a newbie to server/site security but learning fast due to a scumbag who installed a phishing site in a folder on my server. I think they got in via an old phBB forum install that I never got rid of.

I have been trying to get up to speed on what I should do (and should've already done before this happened!). As you know, there's a LOT to it so I'll be learning for quite some time.

I got an email from a security company working for a bank to tell me to "shut down this website". That's how I know it exists. So I can see the phishing site folder path off of one of my websites but I can't delete the folder or any of the files in it (to make it stop working). It simply repopulates and won't go to "trash".

I have installed chrootkit in the root directory in cpanel on my server (shared hosting) as instructed. But how exactly do I execute/run the program? The instuctions say to type "make sense" to compile C programs. But where do I type it???? I'm clueless and don't see a command line from my end of cpanel. Is that the problem? Only the hosting company can do this? I would think that I should have the ability to protect myself and my interests, no?

Here are the instructions:
    -----------------------------
    5. Installation
    ---------------

To compile the C programs type:

# make sense

After that it is ready to use and you can simply type:

# ./chkrootkit
    -------------------------------

Any help is GREATLY appreciated!!! If you have links to MUST READ INFO on what I need to do to secure my sites for future reference (from a newbie's/dummie's perspective) please send it ASAP.

Thank you very much.
    Last edited by justbadco1; Sep 25, 2008 at 08:31.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have to login in server using SSH as root user.