User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Display content of XML file in (x)HTML page

Hi guys ...

I currently have the folowing situation:

We have developed a series of xhtml templates for a client. Now, on one of the templates, they are going to be using a Flash movie, which itself is going to use XML for all of it's content. Thats fine. Now, they want to be able to use the same XML doc to display content to non-Flash pages (users with no Flash) so that they see the same content.

In these pages, they want to use the same header, footer, top nav etc, but only have the content from the XML display in the main part of the page.

I have little to no experience with XSL, and the only real experience I have with XML is creating XML with PHP from a db, so do not really know where to start with displaying and formatting this content.

I have read about data islands, but these are only compatible with IE as far as I can tell.

They are really keen on using the method mentioned above, as it would mean they only need to edit one XML file, but I think that is working backwards. I personally think the best solution is to store all the data in the database, and have it output XML in the format they desire for the Flash to use, and then output pure xhtml for the alternative content.

Is it possible to format XML in an xhtml doc, whilst maintaining all the other xhtml page elements (header, footer etc) and still have valid (xhml strict) pages?

If so, could somebody please advise as to how to go about this, or at least some starting points? I have used W3Schools' site a bit to see what it is all about, and can format a pure XML doc using xsl fine from their examples, but the problem arises when trying to incorporate it into the existing templates.

Thanks in advance
    D

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure I understand your question 100%, but here is my experience with xml+xsl.