SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Looking for direction for simple CMS

You know how when you are looking for something simple and you know it probably exists but you don't know what to call it? Well...

I admit it right out front. I am a newbie. I am a designer first and a coder second for sure. So far my stuff is simple, static sites but that look really good. I am a quick study and I need some help on the next level. here's the thing:

I am putting in a bid on a very simple website. I have worked up a prototype to show the client and want to have some things to say about content management. I want to be able to sell them on the idea that they can add content to existing pages (and delete content that is old) themselves without knowing how to code anything.

Seems to me that there should be a simple system that lets you define an existing <div id="content_to_change"> element on index.html (or any other page or element for that matter) so that, without the client knowing what is going on, when they click 'update', what was in that <div> changes to what they inputted. Does that make sense?

It seems to me that that is what a CMS would be for but I am just not sure. Is it? Am I in the right direction? If so, can anyone recommend a good one for a newbie like me that is easy for me to install and for the client to use? If not, what should I be looking for?

Thanks for the help!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Believe it or not... Wordpress. This can be used as an amazing CMS system if you can properly create template to look like a web page and not a blog. I've done it plenty of times and when it comes to SEO this will be optimal as a CMS system.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)