SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Taunton, UK
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Is this site hand coded or dynamic?

    I was looking at this site http://www.iknow-yorkshire.co.uk/acc...ridlington.htm and notice that all the pages end in html

    I am curious as to whether this means the site developers create every single page by hand or there is some way they generate the html pages from dynamic content?

    Seems like a lot of content to generate by hand so I am curious as to how this kind of thing can be done dynamically but still retain html extension

    Thanks

    Paul
    Mediakitchen Limited
    App Development | Website Design & Development | Flash Game Development
    Somerset, UK
    http://www.mediakitchen.co.uk

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict mmanders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Posts
    358
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't say whether or not it is dynamic, but for a site with a significant amount of content, changes are it is served via some server side language. You can use Apache .htaccess among other method, to allow certain file extensions (even HTML) to be processed by the server; there is no reason why files ending in .html can't be dynamic. Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Taunton, UK
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks max - so I guess it could be php but just has html extensions. Clever!!
    Mediakitchen Limited
    App Development | Website Design & Development | Flash Game Development
    Somerset, UK
    http://www.mediakitchen.co.uk

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru risoknop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    end($world)
    Posts
    834
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can rewrite dynamic PHP URLs into static (endng with .html, any other extension or just with '/' or anything you like) using Apache mod_rewrite module, or in case of Lighttpd by inserting the rewrite rules manually into the configuration file.

    Guide for Apache: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/misc/rewriteguide.html

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    715
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Remember that there are more server side languages other than PHP out there that could have been used .

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Taunton, UK
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the replies. I guess I can't do this as I just host my site on a 3rd party hosting company?
    Mediakitchen Limited
    App Development | Website Design & Development | Flash Game Development
    Somerset, UK
    http://www.mediakitchen.co.uk

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru risoknop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    end($world)
    Posts
    834
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by chuckylefrek View Post
    Thanks for the replies. I guess I can't do this as I just host my site on a 3rd party hosting company?
    Most of the web hosting companies have mod_rewrite and .htaccess enabled. If not, just ask your hosting provider to enable it, it's not a big problem.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Taunton, UK
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah cool - thanks risoknop
    Mediakitchen Limited
    App Development | Website Design & Development | Flash Game Development
    Somerset, UK
    http://www.mediakitchen.co.uk

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    by default a server will not consider .htm as dynamic. However, configuration does allow for .htm to be considered as dynamic

    But why do they have to be .htm or .html for you? i don't believe search engines etc out there will tink of .asp or .php as lesser in some way


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •