SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist Azam.net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Flash doesn't show on Wordpress Sidebar in IE, but does in FF and Google Chrome

    We are using Wordpress 2.2.2.

    The sidebar seems to have problems with flash images. Some work, some don't. Some do in some browsers while not in others.

    My latest problem is that the top right-hand side image on our blog (the one for Linkshare) shows in Firefox 3.0 and Google Chrome, but not in Internet Explorer 8.

    I'm not sure if this a problem to do with IE 8.0 as it is supposed to be in Beta (does the flash show in IE 7?), or whether there are problems with Sidebar.php.
    Here is the code I need to add:

    Code:
    <object width="125" height="125">
    <param name="movie" value="http://www.linkshare.co.uk/share/fla..._mb5_nazam.swf" /></param>
    <param name="quality" value="high" /></param>
    <param name="allowScriptAccess"value="always"></param>
    <embed src="http://www.linkshare.co.uk/share/fla..._mb5_nazam.swf" width="125" height="125" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
    allowScriptAccess="always">
    </object>
    Can somebody help please? Is there any way I can get it to work in IE?

    Many thanks.
    Azam Marketing, Inc.
    Award-Winning Digital Marketing and Design Results Since 1997
    Click here to read acclaimed online marketing & design blog

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast TopherX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you have to use a totally different scipting method.

    I just did a quick search, this sites seems to go through it:

    w w w. rendition. net/ wordpress/ blogging/ 25/

    if you can understand their writing I'm sure you'll have enough info to find your way from there. The good news is you can use transparencies in flash with it.

    sorry able the link, I'm new to the forum

  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist Azam.net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    479
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for very kindly responding.

    I have studied that and tried the method, but unfortunately it doesn't work.

    Is there any simpler way of getting the flash to work? I've seen flash banners on the sidebar of lots of Wordpress blogs.
    Azam Marketing, Inc.
    Award-Winning Digital Marketing and Design Results Since 1997
    Click here to read acclaimed online marketing & design blog

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast TopherX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    sorry buddy, its the only way and it does work. I have it on all my sites.

  5. #5
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I see the flash ad in your sidebar in IE7. Doesn't require a click to activate or anything, that's been removed from IE now that the patent issue is settled if you have Windows Update turned on.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast TopherX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no that's a function of the scripting method. That's why you have to get that method going, it the only way to do it these days. Trust me it does work. The key is the location of the javascript file and always ensure that you use full urls.

  7. #7
    Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Philadephia, PA
    Posts
    20,578
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by TopherX View Post
    no that's a function of the scripting method.
    No, it's a function of the April 2008 update from Microsoft. You don't have to script around it except for the shrinking number of users that don't have Windows Update turned on now, but did in 2006.

    http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/archive/200...ex-update.aspx

    Microsoft has now licensed the technologies from Eolas, removing the “click to activate” requirement in Internet Explorer.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast TopherX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hey I'm not here to argue with you. I have wordpress sites, every one has flash, that's the method I used to make it work. take it or leave it.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •