SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    psycho
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    London
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have installed apache for win98.

    when running of ms-dos prompt i get the following message :

    "cannot determine local host name. Use the Servername directive to set it manually"

    aagggghhh! Help me !

    also - i downloaded php4, but how do i install it ?! The instructions are lame..!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't worry, it's easy to fix. Just open up httpd.conf (you can find it by going to Start->Find->Files and Folders) and scroll down to where the line starts with "ServerName." Then when you're there, it may say something. Delete what it says after ServerName (but still on the same line) and type 'localhost' .

    That should fix it.

    [This message has been edited by d3v (edited June 21, 2000).]

  3. #3
    psycho
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    London
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've done that - still doesnt work

    get at me on MSN IM d3v - i need mad help !

    anyone with experience with this contact me !

    [This message has been edited by James Smith (edited June 21, 2000).]

  4. #4
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Anyone with experience will probably tell you not to use Apache under Windows. It is slow to process requests and difficult to install add-on modules (like PHP) when compared to the Unix version.

    Consider using a Windows-oriented server such as Sambar Server.


    ------------------
    -Kevin Yank.
    http://www.SitePoint.com/
    Helping Small Business Grow Online!

  5. #5
    psycho
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    London
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    I can't possibly at all in my mind conceive why anyone would use Apache for win 98 !

    After spending several hours trying to get it to work, I downloaded Omnihttpd

    This works straight away !!! No configuration, no messing around, and it has php installed already !

    I have one more question : does mySQL save the databases you have created in a certain file ? I ask this because I have downloaded and been using mySQL for win98. I thought it would be cool if I could create my entire database offline, then upload it to my UNIX server. Is that possible ?

    Ta very much.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As for your last question...

    All of the databases are stored in mysql\data. The databases are folders and the tables are .frm I believe. Your host may or may not let you use your own. It all depends on how personal they are.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •