SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot unformatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    216/GMT+1
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Always ERRORS in my sitemap.xml

    Hi,

    I do a static web site in html, I have a problem with writing a good xml sitemap. I used the XML standard sitemapping from http://www.sitemaps.org/protocol.php, but google webmaster says "I do not know this syntax" ??
    what wrong i dont know, some help.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What does your code look like?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot unformatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    216/GMT+1
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thank you for reply & sorry for zzz

    errors like

    When we tested a sample of the URLs from your Sitemap, we found that some URLs were not accessible to Googlebot because they contained too many redirects. Please change the URLs in your Sitemap that redirect and replace them with the destination URL (the redirect target). All valid URLs will still be submitted.
    I used 301 redirect, "any illegal issues?"

    thanks

  4. #4
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Again, what does your code look like? It could be anything; the wrong character encoding, the wrong file format, a syntax error...

    Now, as for the redirect, just replace the old links with the new ones, then resubmit it.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    15
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I had many problems with sitemap in the past...I got rid of my errors when I made my software using google guidelines.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast SitemapGenerator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    90
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by unformatik View Post
    errors like

    I used 301 redirect, "any illegal issues?"
    That is simple to solve. You can't include URLs that redirect, instead write the destination URLs. You can read more about sitemap errors in my FAQ if you wish.
    A1 Website Analyzer - Fix broken links, duplicate titles, custom text search, sculpt links
    A1 Sitemap Generator - Build xml, video, image, mobile, visual HTML/CSS sitemaps
    :: WebHelpForums.Net :: Support forum for the A1 tools suite.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •