SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Pricing / Estimates

I am a newbie and may be taking on a new client with existing website: www.ntbzzz.com. Need to recode the whole site (two pages)... The client asked for an estimate but since I am a newbie I know it will take me longer than most. Any suggestions about how to price this?

It, of course, involves redoing both pages and creating template with proper semantic markup/css and will use a sandbag div (someone in another forum helped me with this) so text won't squish and float outside box in Safari or when user increases font (original problem).

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I don't want to overcharge since it will take me longer than someone experienced.

Thanks in advance!

phpLD Fanatic bronze trophy dvduval's Avatar
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would say you should at least outline the specific items you will be doing. That way you don't end with an open ended project that has no end. Also, you might want to let them know that you are basing your quote on X hours of work. It can then be your perogative to work extra or ask for a little more money for additional features or requests.

SitePoint Guru
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Right. I think that's a good idea -- letting them know how many hours I think it will take and not leave it open ended.

I am wondering how long it would it take you -- someone who is experienced with css/html, sandbag div, etc -- so that I don't overcharge since I am new and will be slower.

Wondering if I should post this in the CSS section????

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)