SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: MySQL problems

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well I'm following Kevin's article and I've installed PHP successfully, but not configured MySQL for Win32 (it works on my Linux box, and I'm running Win2k on this one).

    Basically, I type the following into a console.
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">code/font><HR><pre>
    C:\&gt;cd mysql\bin
    C:\MYSQL\BIN&gt;mysqld-shareware

    C:\MYSQL\BIN\mysqladmin -u root password "sitepoint"
    MYSQLADMIN: connect to server at 'localhost' failed
    error: 'Can't connect to MySQL server on 'localhost' (10061)'
    Check that mysqld is running on localhost and that the port is 3306.
    You can check this by doing 'telnet localhost 3306'

    C:\MYSQL\BIN&gt;
    [/code]
    I telnet to localhost:3306 and it says connection refused, which means there is no other side waiting for a connection.

    I didn't do anything out of the ordinary, like install MySQL in C:\winnt\system32 (or C:\windows\system32) and I'm out of ideas.

    Anyone know what I did wrong?

    (P.S. 'sitepoint' is not my password)

    ------------------
    Quinn Slack
    If Microsoft is the answer, it must be a bad question
    C:\DOS C:\DOS\RUN \RUN\DOS\RUN

  2. #2
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    597
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i don't have your answer...but your signature regarding dos is rather cute.


    - sam

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks! Don't tell anyone but I didn't make it up unfortunately...a friend gave it to me.

    Well anyways do you think it is a problem with MySQL and Windows 2000 together? Like can MySQL not work with Win2k?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy Karl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    4,411
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As I mentioned before I run MySQL on Win2k very well, I run it as a service though that starts with the machine.

    My advice would be to try running it as a service
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">code/font><HR><pre>
    C:\mysql\bin\mysqld-shareware --install
    [/code]

    now try connecting to it and see what it says, the only difference between your setup and mine (from what you have given) is that I renamed mysqld-shareware.exe to mysqld.exe before I ran it as a service.

    ------------------
    Karl Austin
    KDA Web Services

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK thanks! I'm going to boot back into Windows right now to test it out.

    Man am I having MySQL problems. Under Linux it doesn't work either...same error as on Windows I believe. It says I already have a server running on post 3306 (mysql port). Even though I rebooted to try it and did it immediatly after I logged on, and it isn't set to run or anything. And this isn't a trojan horse or a backdoor...I formatted yesterday and this is the first time I've been in Linux.

    Well I'll post an update when I'm back in Windows.

    ------------------
    Quinn Slack
    If Microsoft is the answer, it must be a bad question
    C:\DOS C:\DOS\RUN \RUN\DOS\RUN

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah-ha!! I just needed to run it as mysqld.exe --standalone. Now it works.

    Thanks for your help, Karl!

    ------------------
    Quinn Slack
    If Microsoft is the answer, it must be a bad question
    C:\DOS C:\DOS\RUN \RUN\DOS\RUN

  7. #7
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Looks like my Windows installation instructions need a few more details for WinNT/2000 systems. I'll get this updated ASAP.


    ------------------
    -Kevin Yank.
    http://www.SitePoint.com/
    Helping Small Business Grow Online!

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great, thanks. I gotta say though it isn't too fun always having this console entry in my taskbar. Probably if I buy MySQL then it won't be there but is it possible to run MySQLD-Shareware as a hidden task?

    Oh and FYI I e-mailed you about this but in one place during installation there is a place where you tell us to type "msql [command]" and that could be a big prob for people who have both mSQL and MySQL.

    Thanks!

  9. #9
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I believe it is possible to have the shareware version run as a Windows NT/2000 service. Check out the instructions here to see if they help:
    http://www.analysisandsolutions.com/code/mybasic.htm

    I changed a mistaken reference to "msqladmin" to "mysqladmin" in the article... I hope that was the typo you were referring to.


    ------------------
    -Kevin Yank.
    http://www.SitePoint.com/
    Helping Small Business Grow Online!

  10. #10
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Something like that, the admin version maybe.

    I've actually already seen that page, I'll look over it again though.

    Thanks!

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Now it's working without any taskbar entry. I don't remember what I did but since this computer hasn't rebooted in months it won't be a problem.

    In my task list there is an entry for mysql-shareware and it's taking up 11MB of RAM when it's idle, because if I remember someone wanted to know that stat. It is a nonissue for me as I have gobs of RAM.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Addict mh8759's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Slovenia, Europe
    Posts
    205
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote/font><HR>Originally posted by d3v:
    Now it's working without any taskbar entry. I don't remember what I did but since this computer hasn't rebooted in months it won't be a problem.

    In my task list there is an entry for mysql-shareware and it's taking up 11MB of RAM when it's idle, because if I remember someone wanted to know that stat. It is a nonissue for me as I have gobs of RAM.
    <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


    i guess you were faster than me..i had the same problem with mysql...i was about to email kevin yank, but then i saw your topic...thanks..btw this mySql rules, don't you agree?

    Marko

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,629
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep. What I like is that there is a common syntax between each SQL server (mSQL, Jet, SQL-Server, MySQL, Oracle, dBASE, etc.).

    Also I found out what was wrong in Linux. For some reason or another even when I launched safe_mysqld console-independent it stayed as a sort of child of the console. Then when I kept following the instructions I had to ctrl-c MySQL outta there and therefore it quit.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •