SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy can you help me ?

    I want javascript code that disable advertisements from Angelfire and Geocities !!!

  2. #2
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nup you can't do it

    Anyway, you'd be breaking the TOS you have with them and they might ban your account...

    You could always pay a little a month (like $5 or somthing) for some totally add free hosting.

    You could also check out www.cyberwings.com they have REALLY cheap hosting (like $6 a year). You'll have to get a domain name too (~$8/$10). and thats it

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeap, platinum is right!
    You could disable ads by plasing <NOEMBED> before the </html> and it will disable advertisements from Geocities, but if you get cought you are going to get suspended so the best thing you could do is find a cheap hosting plan and you dont have to worried about those anoying ads anymore!

    Goodluck!

  4. #4
    That's Right. notepad_coder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    835
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was told putting <noscript> right before </html> stops the one on geocities, but I'm not sure if it works or not.
    - the lid is off the maple syrup again!

  5. #5
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Doesn't geocites use a DHTML watermark thing now?

  6. #6
    . Ruchir's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,863
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i think it isnt possible.. but there are some Advertisement Killers available that does this job. i dont think if its leagal, but if u r in a desperate need , try searching for them.
    Peace.

  7. #7
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, its definatly not complying with the terms of service...

    Geocities doesn't HAVE to give you free hosting, they are giving you somthing for F-R-E-E so i can't see how you can complain?

    They make money from their ads, so if you dont like em' you might actually have to pay for some hosting.

    (please, don't promote ways and means of getting rid of these ads).

  8. #8
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Post thank u for explaination

    OK thanx again !!!

  9. #9
    Currently Occupied; Till Sunda Andrew-J2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,475
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Its nis <noscript>, but you have to be lucky enough to get away with it i'm sure they will check for this kind of thing any way and most likely disable your account with them, you cant blame them for trying to make money from something that they dont have to do. Otherwise just go get your own host shouldn't cost much unless you need a lotta bandwidth/server side languages etc

  10. #10
    long gone but not forgotten AljapaCo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    548
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Exclamation Donīt go there...

    Geocities are totally mercyless when finding out things like this!

    If you donīt have the money for a "real" ISP, I would recommend Brinkster www.brinkster.com, they can be very slow but at least you get rid of the (visual) ads..

    Best of luck!
    T O B I A S - S T R A N D H | visit my site here
    OPERA7 /MSIE6 /FireFox 1.1/Win2000 /ADSL /17" Screen /1024x768
    god doesn't create genius, he clones me.............


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •