SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE6-only; gap in page

    There's a gap in this page when viewed in IE6 and I don't remember
    what causes it or how to fix it. Help please? BTW, I can't post links yet so I've changed the address to use "dot" instead of .com.

    sheltercovepublishing "dot" com/client-pages/sitka-bazaar/index.shtml
    sheltercovepublishing "dot" com/client-pages/sitka-bazaar/global.css

    Thank you!

    Mim

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried adding display:none; to #contentwide but that didn't work and now I have a phrase in brackets showing up on the webpage:
    [an error occurred while processing this directive]
    Never seen this before...

    Getting rid of the display:none; doesn't get rid of the message.

    ???

    Mim

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Centauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    3,718
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't see any gaps anywhere in IE6 ....

    The error message would be from the server's pre-processor - are you including anything in your code at these points?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The includes are not loading, thus the error messages on the left and in the footer. I don't know why they're not.

    I'm stumped about the IE6 gap not showing up for you. I'm seeing a dark blue gap about .5" wide going across the page below the header.

    Thanks for the help.

    Mim

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    230
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I do not see a gap in IE6 either. Could it be a cache issue?
    Joe

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, everyone, I fixed the error message issue (bad links) and I'm assuming it's a cache issue with IE6. I did a screenshot check and it's fine.

    Mim

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's fixed!!

    Here's what I learned from John of Explorer Exposed!

    "The problem stems from the height you put on the header
    div, which is 17.1em. That value makes the header the
    height of 17.1 capital M's turned sideways, so if someone
    (like you) has their text size different than other people,
    they will see the header displayed taller.

    I predict that if you check you will find that your
    IE has its text-size set to "Larger".

    However, the BG image used on the header is a px height
    and can't expand! What you want is to set the height of
    the header div to the same px height as that BG image,
    then it can't cause this problem."

    Mim


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •