SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot barleytwist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Lulworth, Dorset, UK
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Tabbing round the page

    1. In FF I can tab round the all links on the page. In IE7 it just cycles round the page chrome area and never enters my webpage. Have I missed something or not set something?
    2. Secondly, I may prefer to set tabbing to some point on the page to get accessibility optimized. Say on the first link on the page ("skip to content"). How is this done so the chrome is avoided. Advice appreciated.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict rabbitsfeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    334
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not sure about the first issue apart from make sure that you're html/xhtml is in the proper order.

    2. Secondly, I may prefer to set tabbing to some point on the page to get accessibility optimized. Say on the first link on the page ("skip to content"). How is this done so the chrome is avoided. Advice appreciated.
    Try something like this:

    Code:
    <body>
    <a href="#maincontent" tabindex="01">skip to content</a>
    ...
    <h1><a name="maincontent" id="maincontent"></a>Heading</h1>
    <p>This is the first paragraph</p>
    Make the tabindex value the lowest value on the page if you want to tab there first. Although, if your code is in the proper order; it should go there without needing the tabindex attribute/value.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot barleytwist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Lulworth, Dorset, UK
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, that's fine for when the tabbing actually works but as I said IE7 does not tab into the page area and just cycles round the chrome.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict rabbitsfeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    334
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah, got ya!

    Yes the site I'm currently building tabs around the chrome in IE7 too—but if you keep tabbing it eventually gets to the page content.

    Perhaps put a post up in the Accessibility and Usability section of this forum?

    I'd like to fix this issue too.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard Stomme poes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    10,278
    Mentioned
    50 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Is it an issue? Is it a bad thing to give the user of IE7 the option of accessing his/her browser before dicking with the web page? What if they want to change the URL at the very first glance at your site? : ) kidding.

    I only have to tab about 5 times to get into the page on my IE7. I can't imagine a keyboarder using IE7 not knowing how to change that setting if they so wish. Trying to force a change in browser behaviour on your page might be the worse thing in this case.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot barleytwist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Lulworth, Dorset, UK
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have no problem with that but it just cycles round the chrome and never goes into the page. If a person cannot use the mouse clicking with the mouse is not an option.

    Perhaps someone could see if it's my browser by going to http://www.acdorchester.org and trying it.

  7. #7
    ¬.¬ shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tabbed into the page just fine...IE7, Vista
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  8. #8
    SitePoint Zealot barleytwist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Lulworth, Dorset, UK
    Posts
    183
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Do you have a particular setting and does it work for all sites?

  9. #9
    ¬.¬ shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pretty much default settings, I don't play with it that much cause I don't use it. And yeah it appears to work on all sites.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •