SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru phantom007's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    737
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question What on earth is this?

    Hi,

    Whenever I try to open any website (gmail, hotmail, and anyother) with my FF, I see the following two URLS in my FF status bar:

    Code:
    dt.tongji.cn.yahoo.com
    
    and
    
    ad.5iyy.info

    I even upgraded to FF 3 but still getting those links in my FF status bar.

    What do you think it can be?

    Screenshots






    Thanx

  2. #2
    masquerading Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sounds like Adware. Try installing/running Adaware SE
    Nick . all that we see or seem, is but a dream within a dream
    Show someone you care, send them a virtual flower.
    Good deals on men's watches

  3. #3
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Lol its not adaware, Content delivery networks.
    http://developer.yahoo.com/performance/rules.html#cdn

    the one with .info is probably just an ad network.
    Nothing to be concerned about.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru phantom007's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    737
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by logic_earth View Post
    Lol its not adaware, Content delivery networks.
    http://developer.yahoo.com/performance/rules.html#cdn

    the one with .info is probably just an ad network.
    Nothing to be concerned about.


    The question is, how did it came into my system and that under FF.

  5. #5
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Huh? What do you mean came into your system? The browser (FF) is downloading the resources (Images and scripts) from those locations (URLs) nothing to worry about completely normal.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    291
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can try the NoScript add-on for Firefox. One of the best things I have installed! Even on a single website, it differentiates between the individual domains contacted on every page. Usually, big websites, like Gamespot, have loads of other sites they contact. Most of the time, this is for the purposes of ads. With NoScript, you can disable those sites automatically. The result: the web page works normally, as if JS and Java are enabled, while the ads and malware linked to on the page (ads, ad popups, etc...) are completely disabled. For instance, on this page, I see google-analytics, sitepointstatic, industrybrains and sitepoint. Only sitepoint is allowed. Note that this may sometimes result in "blank" banner tops.

    If you're concerned about the sites you visit automatically, you can try it.

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/722

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    11years old domain for sale! PM me for more info!
    Posts
    2
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok, I can confirm that this has nothing to do with your own computer. This is a VIRUS which is spreading in Local Area Networks.

    If you see the source, you will find a javascript code at the top of every page.

    I am facing the same problem but unfortunately, my server admin does not listen to me. Here are the domains that this virus has migrated till now.

    v.freefl.info
    mx.content-type.cn
    ad.5iyy.info
    sun.63afe561.info
    mx.000b213c.info
    ad.8d77b42a.info
    free.idcads.info

    just listing it in the hope that this gets indeced and people benefit from it!

    As far as my knowledge goes, this virus is pretty harmless if you are using Firefox. It will be very harmful if you are using "Internet Explorer"

    Only, Kaspersky antivirus has been able to detect this antivirus as far as my experience goes. Morever, it is unable to do anything. It just gives a warning.

    And lastly for a cure of this, pester your server admin / LAN administrator to do something abt it! I am doing it but unfortunately these guys are stubborn and DO NOT THINK THAT ANYONE ELSE can have good knowledge than themselves.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I also use the NoScript add-on for Firefox. If you don't want to install the add-on (though i recommend it), then I suggest you at least go to (in Firefox) Tools->Options-->Privacy and uncheck "Accept third-party cookies".
    If the problem persists you must get an antivirus and antispyware. Here I have some freeware alternatives:
    My favorite free antivirus is AVG.
    Antispyware: Spybot s&d
    Hope I've helped!
    Last edited by nicholas77; Aug 20, 2008 at 10:31. Reason: I am not allowed to post external links outside of the "Advertise your services" section :)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •