Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

design or develop first?

hello,

just wondering if I should go about designing my site first before implementing any back end capabilities. i like to keep things organized and plan ahead. It would seem to make sense to create the static site first but i am somewhat unsure if I were to design first and end up redesigning to fit everything I plan on adding later, in terms of dynamic content.

any feedback should help clear my mind, and i should also mention this is my first attempt at combining front end, and back end but i have done both seperately heh, thanks to all who reply.

andy

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    For me this is a matter or personal preference. I usually create a mock-up of how I want the final result to be, implement the back end, then finish everything up.
    Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.

Loathsome Systems

SQL Consultant gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    63 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    the first thing you should do is wireframe the user interaction to understand what actions the user will take and what responses the back end must make

then design the database to support the interactions

then design the site

then develop the backend and site in tandem
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL
    "giving out my real stuffs"

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would say a lot of it has do be done together. You must havev at least an idea of the site you want, but as you put it together many developmental issues may change your mind.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it depends on what you kind of stuff you're wanting to do with the backend stuff but I preffer designing first so that Ican see what the user is going to see when the backend stuff happens.