User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm new- be gentle!!

Hello folks!

I've lurked this forum for some time and have been blessed with the time to toy around with coding my first "real" web pages. I've been reading and was hesitant to post this thread as I don't want to get flamed. I'm not looking for a free ride, just a nudge in the right direction.

I have created many static pages, nothing of any consequence really. Promoted a couple music groups, created picture pages for family, really basic stuff. I was using Nvu for some time until I started playing with MS FrontPage, which has worked really well for me to this point.

Now that I really want to delve deeper into web development (with no formal training mind you), I want to start out with a simple online store selling widgets, and a forum site to get a feel for dynamic design.

What I'm looking for is simply your opinion. Do you use an editor like FrontPage or do you code manually? I'm finding success coding manually but it takes me forever to accomplish anything- there just has to be a better way.

Thanks much for your input.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    While personally I am against editors because it keeps you from really learning how to code, I do recognize that they can be effective. However, I beg you not to use frontpage, and at least use an editor that will produce standards-valid code, like Dreamweaver. But above that, if you really want to get serious about website making, it is in your best interest to learn how to do all of this stuff without a GUI IDE.