SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Ajax error 406 Firefox 3

    Hi,

    I recently upgraded to Firefox 3 and now my ajax application isn't working - worked before on last version. It works in IE7 fine. It's just a simple 'load content into form element when user selects a menu item' script. When I try to select something, the following menu doesn't load its contents. When I look in firebug for the problem I get this:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//IETF//DTD HTML 2.0//EN">
    
    <HTML><HEAD>
    
    <TITLE>406 Not Acceptable</TITLE>
    
    </HEAD><BODY>
    
    <H1>Not Acceptable</H1>
    
    An appropriate representation of the requested resource /js/getRegions.php could not be found on this server.<P>
    
    <HR>
    
    <ADDRESS>Apache/1.3.41 Server at directory.pubsandclubs.net.au Port 80</ADDRESS>
    
    </BODY></HTML>
    Anyone else come across this? Help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist vikrantkorde's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    541
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Interesting..
    if something is working on IE then it generally works on firefox too.

    did you check with FireFox 2?
    Vikrant Korde
    S Y S T I M E, Mhape,
    Mumbai, Maharashtra, India.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah it worked fine on the older version. I have even checked other sites that use ajax and finding its still quite buggy or doesn't work at all. Is Firefox just not supporting it anymore or is it a bug?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I have just discovered the same problem. My system is a Java JSP based system and when doing an AJAX call, I get:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//IETF//DTD HTML 2.0//EN">
    <html><head>
    <title>406 Not Acceptable</title>
    </head><body>
    <h1>Not Acceptable</h1>
    <p>An appropriate representation of the requested resource /ajax could not be found on this server.</p>
    </body></html>
    Like the OP, it worked in FF2 and still does on IEx.

    Interestingly enough, it still works on my development server. I haven't found a fix for it yet though

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Found the source of the problem but not why FF3 is causing it. I got the idea from this site: w w w.bala-krishna.com/wordpress-406-not-acceptable-error-fix

    (I modified the URL as the forum won't let me post a URL)

    I simply added the Apache Directive: SecFilterEngine Off and it works.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Good so I'm not the only one

    I had a look at that link, but is it safe to turn something like that off?

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have no idea. As I'm using Java I'm not using it. I can't say whether it's safe or not but it works and doesn't apply in my case.

    It'd be worth doing your research though

  8. #8
    We're from teh basements.
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,205
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by fingersmith001 View Post
    Good so I'm not the only one
    Apparently the problem is widespread. A friend was telling me the other day about how the AJAX on one of his favorite sites doesn't work in FF3 either. All of my custom AJAX stuff continued to work when I switched to FF3.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    12
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried disabling the FilterSec apache setting but it didn't fix the problem for me. For some reason, firefox seems to be adding this doc type, <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//IETF//DTD HTML 2.0//EN">, to the php page ajax uses and I think that's whats causing the error. I have tried adding the correct doctype to the php page but to no avail.

    Anyone got any ideas?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •