SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    XP Service Pack 3 breaks Fixed Table Headers for IE6

    xTableHeaderFixed is a great table enhancement. The fix that allows it to work with IE6 is tremendous.
    That is until XP Service Pack 3.

    The enhancement does not work at all in IE6 SP3. If anyone has an idea about how to fix it, I will be very grateful.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast Grayson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    its possible that IE6 SP3 has fixed some of the standards issues. Try a standard.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I bypassed the IE6 workaround to see if that would take care of it, but it didn't.
    The main issue that I have is that many of the visitors to the site use IE6 Service Pack 2. I need this feature to work with IE6 no matter what Service Pack they have.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here is the issue:
    The following code is used to detect IE6 in xTableHeaderFixed.

    /*@cc_on
    @if (@_jscript_version == 5.6) // IE6
    ...
    @end @*/

    IE6 Service Pack 3 reports jscript_version 5.7, which is the same version for IE7.

    If I change jscript_version == 5.6 to jscript_version < 5.8, I get xTableHeaderFixed functionality in both versions of IE6, but lose it in IE7.

    Is there another conditional compilation to test for all versions of IE6 and exclude IE7?

    Thanks.

  5. #5
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,595
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    You'd need to test the browser version in the HTML rather than the JScript version in the JScript.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, thanks to Joeri Sebrechts, I was able to test for ie6 in JavaScript:
    is_ie6 =
    document.all &&
    (navigator.userAgent.toLowerCase().indexOf("msie 6.") != -1);

    With that, I replaced the conditional compilation: @if (@_jscript_version == 5.6) // IE6 with if (is_ie6) and everything worked!

  7. #7
    Programming Since 1978 silver trophybronze trophy felgall's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    16,595
    Mentioned
    24 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    That isn't an accurate test because the field you are testing can contain anything at all and still be IE6. The only accurate way to do it is using IE conditionals in the HTML.
    Stephen J Chapman

    javascriptexample.net, Book Reviews, follow me on Twitter
    HTML Help, CSS Help, JavaScript Help, PHP/mySQL Help, blog
    <input name="html5" type="text" required pattern="^$">


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •