SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Right div under content

    http://www.mediaatmidnight.com/test/test.htm

    For some reason my right div is falling under the content div. If I add

    left:197px;
    right:210px;
    position: absolute;

    to the CSS of the content div everything works fine except, the drop downs appear behind the text.

    Any solutions? Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You've got a simple math issue. The widths you've set for each column totals more than the container's width.

    Make sure your column widths (including margin and padding) are no more than the full width of the containing div and you'll be set.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    177 + 583 + 200 + 10 + 10 = 980

    980 is my container, setting it higher does not work either, resizing the window still does not collapse the middle div. Instead the right falls under.

  4. #4
    Formerly known as RockNRollPig Shpigford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,877
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Um your test page is looking fine for me and yesterday when you posted this, your main container was set to 603...not 583.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes I changed some javascript for sizing in ie6 and it seems to like 583 better. And yes it looks fine now, but try shrinking your browser window. The center column should be liquid but instead its staying the same size and knocking the right column under it.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    42
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I can't figure this out for the life of me, it should just auto resize..


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •