SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    13 miles off the French Coast
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    sitepoint layout with legend

    Hi Guys
    Can anyone tell me how the sitepoint site achieves the title (legend) in their articles . They have a nice border with the title of the article at the top of the box.

    I've looked through the sitpoint css sheets but cant see it. Is it use of the html legend or what?

    Many thanks for your advice

    kili

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru alecrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Not exactly sure which part you mean. Care to screenshot?
    Honda Civic Forum - UK Civic Forum
    Web Host Reviews - Independent, honest host reviews
    My Portfolio - Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    13 miles off the French Coast
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Where there is content with a border around it the border is broken at the top with the title inserted at the break

  4. #4
    SitePoint Guru alecrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I doubt they're using a fieldset for that, because that would be incorrect. I haven't looked at the source but I would say it's just something floated with a negative bottom margin to get it over the top of the line.
    Honda Civic Forum - UK Civic Forum
    Web Host Reviews - Independent, honest host reviews
    My Portfolio - Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    13 miles off the French Coast
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by alecrust View Post
    I doubt they're using a fieldset for that, because that would be incorrect. I haven't looked at the source but I would say it's just something floated with a negative bottom margin to get it over the top of the line.
    What an image? that must be hard work to position it correctly

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru alecrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    728
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No, very simple. I don't have time to build a demo for you, but the way I would do it is simply float a heading left, and give it margin-bottom:-5px; or similar to get it aligned over the line. No images involved
    Honda Civic Forum - UK Civic Forum
    Web Host Reviews - Independent, honest host reviews
    My Portfolio - Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    13 miles off the French Coast
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by alecrust View Post
    No, very simple. I don't have time to build a demo for you, but the way I would do it is simply float a heading left, and give it margin-bottom:-5px; or similar to get it aligned over the line. No images involved
    Cheers. I'll have a go at that


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •