SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy page in IE loads without css

    i have a page that has a link to a separate css file and when i reload it, in the first second it apears like at has no css:
    http://www.tamisivan.com/temp/yoram/...y%20level.html
    it happens only in IE. how can i solve this?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast slowtwitch's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kelso, Scotland, UK
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Works fine for me on IE7
    "Obstacles are those things you see
    when you take your eyes off the goal"

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the first time it loads, it looks like it is only in plain text for a very shirt time...
    maybe you blinked exactly?

    i saw it on more then one computer

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tailslide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Posts
    1,687
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Probably FOUC (flash of unstyled content).

    What you need is a link tag in the head somewhere - you could add a print stylesheet if you fancy or just change the way you link to your stylesheet from the @import to this:

    Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" href="mainDidgim_eng2.css"  />
    Little Blue Plane Web Design
    Blood, Sweat & Rust - A Land Rover restoration project

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot Acquiesce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Reading, England
    Posts
    146
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    FYI you can find out more about FOUC from http://www.bluerobot.com/web/css/fouc.asp/

    However as Tailslide already mentioned, linking the stylesheet in the head of the document instead of using @import will solve the problem.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    99
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thank you
    it helps!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •