SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict yvv47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Meta Tags on Wordpress?

    Is it possible that the word press is showing Meta tags without any Plugin? Or there is any other way to include the meta tags in word press blog?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast websavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use "All in SEO" plugin.. I dont know is any other option available for META Tags.

  3. #3
    masquerading Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Are you talking about changing the meta tags on a per page basis? You'd have to use a plugin to do that...
    Nick . all that we see or seem, is but a dream within a dream
    Show someone you care, send them a virtual flower.
    Good deals on men's watches

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict yvv47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by websavy View Post
    I use "All in SEO" plugin.. I dont know is any other option available for META Tags.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict yvv47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes exactly what I mean. Do you know that plugin name?
    And also I saw a blog which contains meta tags without any plugin?
    This makes me confused
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Possibility View Post
    Are you talking about changing the meta tags on a per page basis? You'd have to use a plugin to do that...

  6. #6
    WordPress Freelancer banago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vlorė, Albania
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by yvv47 View Post
    Is it possible that the word press is showing Meta tags without any Plugin? Or there is any other way to include the meta tags in word press blog?
    You can change this manually in the footer.php template file. It is easy.
    WPlancer.Com - PHP & WordPress Developer
    ProverbHunter - English Proverbs Explained

  7. #7
    masquerading Nick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    East Coast
    Posts
    2,215
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by yvv47 View Post
    Yes exactly what I mean. Do you know that plugin name?
    And also I saw a blog which contains meta tags without any plugin?
    This makes me confused
    Thanks
    The plugin (one of many), as websavy said above, is called "All in one SEO".

    And how do you know that the blog you saw with page-by-page meta did not use a plugin?
    Nick . all that we see or seem, is but a dream within a dream
    Show someone you care, send them a virtual flower.
    Good deals on men's watches

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict yvv47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks for the help banago.
    I edited the header.php instead of footer.php

    Thanks for finding my solution.
    Quote Originally Posted by banago View Post
    You can change this manually in the footer.php template file. It is easy.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict yvv47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I saw the Source of that page in Firefox. May be I m wrong......
    Quote Originally Posted by Possibility View Post
    The plugin (one of many), as websavy said above, is called "All in one SEO".

    And how do you know that the blog you saw with page-by-page meta did not use a plugin?

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast aikabeatrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes it is possible, you can add the metas in the header.php but there is the best option, as what we said, its called "All in one SEO". You can add home metas for the whole blog and metas for the individual post/pages.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict yvv47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thats great, I'll try this plugin.
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by aikabeatrice View Post
    yes it is possible, you can add the metas in the header.php but there is the best option, as what we said, its called "All in one SEO". You can add home metas for the whole blog and metas for the individual post/pages.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast aikabeatrice's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    37
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    no probs.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Wizard ryanhellyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,323
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Possibility View Post
    You'd have to use a plugin to do that...
    Not quite, you could actually do it via the theme if you really wanted, but it's a bit long winded and personally I'd tend to go for the plugin route. It's a lot less hassle as you don't need to mess around editing theme files all the time.

    To add a meta tag to your theme you would add something like the following to your theme (usually in the header.php file).

    PHP Code:
    <?php if (is_single('post_about_stuff')) {echo '<meta name="keywords" content="bla zoom "/>';} ?>
    The above would add a meta tag to a single post called "post_about_stuff". You would need to add a new piece of code like this every time you added a new post. The other alternative is to use a plugin like suggested above.

    If you using a static site, then I'd go for the hard coded route as it means one less plugin to worry about updating. But if you are updating your site on a regular basis, then I recommend sticking with a plugin. It's a lot less hassle and they shouldn't add much strain to your web server at all.

  14. #14
    WordPress Freelancer banago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vlorė, Albania
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by yvv47 View Post
    Thanks for the help banago.
    I edited the header.php instead of footer.php
    LOL, what a funny situation. I meant header, but I wrote footer. I am a bi tof dyslexic as a matter of fact. Thanks
    WPlancer.Com - PHP & WordPress Developer
    ProverbHunter - English Proverbs Explained

  15. #15
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    609
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How about adsense? How to put adsense in wordpress? Im new in using wordpress, so still dont know on how to put ads, etc.

  16. #16
    WordPress Freelancer banago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Vlorė, Albania
    Posts
    446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can put them by some plugin or by just pasting the code into your template files.
    WPlancer.Com - PHP & WordPress Developer
    ProverbHunter - English Proverbs Explained


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •