Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

which do you prefer? ASP.Net or PHP?

Hi..

as in your experience, which do you prefer? ASP.Net or PHP?
    which is easy?

what are the features in asp.net that are not in PHP?
    and
    features in PHP that are not in ASP.net?
    soberpacificliving - Orange County Sober Living Home Residence.

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ASP .NET is lightyears ahead of PHP.

FACT.
    Web Application Development & Maintenance

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Being a PHP developer, I think PHP is a clear winner (bais opinion).
    I think the biggest plus is, its all free!
    I am currently doing an ASP.net project, and it seems the learning curve for ASP is a little harder. I found it a lot harder to create a simple page, with a tab menu, and have each tab selected when you on that page. I will say thought there are some nifty features in .NET though. Im having some writers block and cant think of any right now...
    The other down side with ASP, is you locked into Microsoft hosting packages, servers etc...
    Guess this isnt a great explination, but a start
    Cheers

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've developed both and the only reason I could see to ever use PHP again would be in a scenario where I wanted to squeeze many sites onto a single hosting plan. I have some sites that are completely static and have little traffic; these sites are on a single hosting plan for $5 per month and I can host as many as 50 sites in a single hosting plan as long as I don't exceed my space and bandwidth limits. With .net plans its much more difficult to squeeze multiple sites onto a single plan without paying a premium. Still, it may be worth the extra expense on the chance that the sites would expand in the future.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)