SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Managed or root?

In need of a hosting upgrade with my current host 1&1, I'm looking at the option of managed or root.

I'm wondering if, as I'm not a tech expert, root is beyond my scope or whether can it be sensibly handled?

Question 1 : Never having done this before, what's likely to be involved in the server admin - presumably I'll be needing to upgrade the OS from time to time?

Reading their promo:
    '1&1 handles all the server administration and pre-installs features like MySQL Databases, Firewall protection, a GeoTrust Dedicated SSL Certificate, and advanced configuration tools.'

Sounds nice.
    Question 2: Am I right to assume that 'all the normal stuff' is likely to be installed, and which of the above won't be?

More from their promo:
    '1&1 Managed Server packages also include all of the intuitive site-building and marketing tools found in 1&1's top-of-the-line shared hosting plan.'

Fine, And I don't care as they're not that good so I don't use them anyway. And it'd be useful to add some fairly common stuff they seem to not bother with.

And more:
    'Plus, daily backup of your data is completely automated.'

This might be a mixed blessing... 'Backup' has bothered me for awhile. I've heard tales of woe where hosts haven't done dailies, or have restored out-of-date data.
    Some of my site has frequently-changed data, some of which is critical - for example, new member registrations. In less-critical stuff, for instance where I've updated a graphic, fixed a typo or something similar, I'd like the advantage of knowing when stuff got hosed - and therefore being able to restore with the current copy, rather than my host restoring with out-of-date stuff.

Question 3: With a root server, other than files being visibly corrupted or absent, how will I become aware that things ain't right?