User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Web site 'ownership' & source code

Hi,

I'm not a developer but I have paid to have my site developed by a relatively small web design company. The site is fully up and running and I'm happy with it.

I'm now thinking about contingency and safeguarding my investment.

What is the accepted practice for me asking the developer for a copy of the source code to the site? Is this of any use to me? Am I likely to offend the developers? Should I be requesting s technical document with full details of servers etc. so I could keep the site going if the current developers were to cease (not that I think they will!)

Also, I have a question on the proof of ownership of the site. Aside from the domain name being registered to me what's to say who 'owns' the content of the website as it stands. Is there a standard legal template I can get my developer to sign to prove ownership is mine? I have mentioned this to my lawyer and they offered to draft something for several hundred pounds but surely it's been done before!

Thanks in advance.

Gavin

www.thesitetoremember.com

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You should have a copy of the source code. This way, if the developer / designer is unavailable to you, you are then able to get someone else to make the changes.

Also check out Chilling Effects Clearinghouse for some information

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Normally, there should be a contract signed between you and the developer with the following clause: