Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Should we get Office Space? Pros and Cons

Hi,

We've been running our web design company full time now for about 2 months, although part-time before that for about 4 months and prior to that I've been doing the odd bit of freelancing for many years. It's been going really well and we have a steady stream of work and clients at the moment.

There are 2 of us in the company, myself and my girlfriend. We work from our small flat which can be quite cramped and I sometimes don't see the light of day! However are these really good enough reasons to justify spending 500/month on office space!?

The miser in me thinks that we should just stick it out here for a bit longer, go out for lunch more often (I live in a pretty cool part of town anyway with bars , pubs, cafes etc) then use the money to save up and get a bigger flat in a year or two, however another part of me thinks we should just spend money getting an office...

Another idea is to re-locate our entire company lol to a nice wifi enabled coffee shop/pub for a day. 500 buys you a lot of beers ahem coffees I mean.

Pros
    ----
    1. More space
    2. Exercise (getting to work every day)
    3. See people other than on a computer screen lol
    4. Possible room for expansion of the company - although we have no intention of doing this anyway...!

Cons
    ----
    1. It costs 400/month + we'd have to get broadband + phone
    2. Responsibility of having equipment in another location
    3. Stress involved with arranging to rent out the other desks in the office - although this would bring the cost down a bit.

I guess I'm not sure if it would really be worth it, we are thinking of perhaps having a weekend away at a 5* hotel once a month instead!