SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Social Security #'s and Filing Taxes (US)

I have a general tax question regarding US taxes. It seems to only be a problem for one client.

- I am a freelance web developer
    - I file my taxes as self-employed.
    - I claim all my income on 1099.

I have a client currently who wants my Social Security #. He did not have me fill out a W-9, when starting work with him, nor did he send me a 1099.

However, he seems to think that it is necessary to have my Social Security #, or Tax Payer ID to do his taxes. This is the only client that seems to think this way. I myself hire freelancers and just claim their wages as an business expense.

It is my understanding that a Social Security #, Tax ID is not necessary unless you are freelancing for an incorporated identity, or your 'employer' is withholding taxes for you.

How do other freelancers handle this situation?

Thanks,
    Rob

Follow Me On Twitter: @djg gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Grossman's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    He'd need your social security to send a 1099 in the first place. Unless you think he's got ulterior motives, just let him have it. If you're paying freelancers more than $600 each over the course of a year, you may owe some of them 1099s yourself.

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)