SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Office hours from a business owner's point of view

Why do almost all companies still treat all its employees the same regarding work hours? I'll explain my situation to elaborate:

I work as a web developer in a design firm, and they make a BIG deal of work hours. For example, if I'm late 15-30 minutes, I have to stay 15-30 minutes after office hours. If I have to leave 1 hour early for something important, I have to stay an extra hour the day after. It's basically what the business owner said to me "you owe me 8 hours a day".

Now isn't that silly?

I'm a developer. I work based on tasks, schedules and dead-lines. I don't even meet or contact clients. Coming late or leaving early doesn't directly impact the performance of the business I'm working for like phone operators for example. As long as I'm delivering my projects on time, they shouldn't care whether I spend an hour less or more at the office.

I find myself most of the days just sitting around surfing the net by the end of the day because I've already finished what I'm supposed to do for that day (which is mostly a lot of tasks).

Now my question is: since there are a plenty of business owners here, how do business owners see this? do they think that they won't get their money's worth (i.e: salaries) unless they force all employees to spend at least 8 hours at the office?

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you asked for more work? I'm sure more could be found to fill your days to the end. This is how your boss will think. If I'm paying you hundreds of dollars a year, I want as much return as possible for that. They probably don't have an upper-limit on how productive they'd like you to be (i.e just finishing your current tasks).