SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

Mentioned
    45 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Business Plans for new website

I've spent the past few months mulling over a website idea, and now I'm thinking of taking it to the next level by coming up with a business plan and creating this idea by the book. I've had a lot of interest in the idea I've pitched and if this works it could be the only website of its kind.

It didn't take me long to find some Business Plan templates that work well, but getting the overall content looks pretty difficult. How would I go about getting these bits of data?

1) Similar products on the market. As far as I know there aren't any, so what should I do about this one? If there are products working in closed sectors or not on the Internet do they could as similar products?

2) Cash Flow Projection. I have no experience with this, and would need to work out what everything would cost to pitch it as an idea, such as legal costs, copyright details, insurance, hosting, whatever an e-business needs?

3) Plagiarism. My website relies on users submissions as well as its own content. How would I go about covering myself with IP. Is it worthwhile to contact a lawyer (even though I'm very young and lacking tons of cash to pour into this idea).

4) Getting an e-business off the ground. I'm a student by day, but have always had an interest of running a business online if started properly. As far as hosting goes I've always stuck with shared, but with interest from third-parties dedicated may become an immediate option. Any good guides on buying hosting for those looking for something with a bit of bulk? I'm a CS student so technical information isn't too much of a problem.