SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot unformatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    216/GMT+1
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up Switch to online server >>

    Hi,
    I have already my own local web server. I want to convert it from local to online server to be able to view hosted sites, images and even share my documents with my distant family.
    How to do that.
    Thanks !!

  2. #2
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,156
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    online server

    Easy. For example, if your local server is PHP, find a host that offers the same server (eg. LAMP) and once you get the site hosted start FTPing your files to it. If you have a database replicate the database and import your data.
    The trick is findng a host with the same, or closely similar, configuration settings. ie. short tags, allow url fopen, magic quotes, global variables, safe mode, etc. etc.
    So if you can't get at the server's httpd.conf (most shared hosts you can't) you may have to do some htaccess stuff and/or rewrite some of your script.
    Hopefully by the time the domain name gets propagated the site will be ready to go live.
    What kind of local server and files do you have now?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot unformatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    216/GMT+1
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you very much first Mittineague.
    Well I have XAMPP pack php+mysql server (local) I have also I dot com domain (in shared server) . the idea is to connect my local pc/server in my room to the world. It is very funny. I don't know very well how to do that, I buy and IP @ and I point it to my local network, or use my domain. I found also Opendns is that service is usful in my case
    I'm in trouble !! some guide lines or somethings to do it, thanks again.

  4. #4
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,156
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    server

    I don't think you really want to "open your computer to the world", needing to be connected 24/7, bandwidth and security issues, and all that.
    You have a server on your local machine, which is great for development, but it is not the same as a production server.
    IMHO , the thing to do is copy your site from your development server to the production server.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot unformatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    216/GMT+1
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    don't think you really want to "open your computer to the world",
    Just for testing purpose

  6. #6
    Programming Team silver trophybronze trophy
    Mittineague's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Springfield, Massachusetts
    Posts
    17,156
    Mentioned
    190 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    hosting from home

    If you're serious, perhaps some of these articles will help you get started.
    http://www.sitepoint.com/gurulists/#gurulist-12

  7. #7
    SitePoint Zealot unformatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    216/GMT+1
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're serious, perhaps some of these articles will help you get started.
    Mittineague, thank you very very very much !!

  8. #8
    I'm a splitzer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    257
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Just install iis, easiest way to publish things. It comes with xp and vista.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Install apache on your Linux Host (www.howtoforge.com). Then you just need to port forward on your internet router to allow port 80 access to your internal IP. You can also use a dynamic dns service (free) to get a nice subdomain for your test site (dyndns.org).

    Now for the warning - you want to ensure your test server is secure as you are inviting the world into your local network and not everyone is nice..... so read up on guides to securing your server before you open that port.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot unformatik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    216/GMT+1
    Posts
    156
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Now for the warning - you want to ensure your test server is secure as you are inviting the world into your local network and not everyone is nice..... so read up on guides to securing your server before you open that port.
    thank you the_wanderer


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •