SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Oh Man! When testing locally Safari uses my media="handheld"

    When testing locally Safari uses my media="handheld" and overwrites my media="screen". Anyone else come across this. The live version does not suffer from this problem. I just lost my Safari tester! So Sad

    And as a side note - Safari does not include my php includes while testing either. So Sad

  2. #2
    The CSS Clinic is open silver trophybronze trophy
    Paul O'B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Hampshire UK
    Posts
    40,535
    Mentioned
    182 Post(s)
    Tagged
    6 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    I just tested this on Safari 3 windows and it seems to work ok for me.

    e.g.

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
    <title>Untitled Document</title>
    <style type="text/css" media="screen">
    body{background:red}
    </style>
    <style type="text/css" media="handheld">
    body{background:black}
    </style>
    
    </head>
    
    <body>
    </body>
    </html>

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yep that worked fine for me too! I even added some padding etc to your handheld version. Just tested mine some more and it definitely still does it. Maybe it has to do with linking to the style sheet - maybe try that? It is taking my "print" styles and using them also (this is all only locally ofcourse). If I add the css links above my "screen" css link then all works perfect - obviously because of the cascade. Even my php includes come back. Because I said #nav, #footer display none in my print version.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Bump to the top - anyone else have this problem with safari?

  5. #5
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's working fine here. What version and build of Safari are you using?

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Dan,

    It's Version 3.0.4 (523.12.9)

    I ended up erasing my media="handheld" so it doesn't seem to be a problem anymore (for this site at least). I just thought you guys might be interested in the strange workings of safari's local testing ability. Take care!

  7. #7
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm. Have you upgraded to 3.1 yet?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy PicnicTutorials's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Carlsbad, California, United States
    Posts
    3,658
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No! But I will now. I'm so behind the times :~)


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •