SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict crabby80's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    387
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IIS & Apache on the same server?

    Hi guys

    I'm looking into installing apache and IIS on the same server (windows 2003) using different IP addresses.

    Could anybody advise me on whether this a bad thing to do or is there anything I should consider before I do this?

    Any help would be much appreciated

    Regards

    Crabby

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have both IIS and Apache installed on my workstation and the seem to work fine.

    As for a production server, I suppose it depends on the amount of traffic this machine will be receiving. Essentially, it's going to have to carry the overhead of two http servers. And SQL server or MySQL into the mix and you had better have a decent box.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    8
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As long as your not doing any extensive .NET stuff with IIS and Apache is running on a different port, technically you should be OK.

    The reason I say don't do extensive .NET stuff is because I've seen certain webapps bring down the IIS server in shared hosting environments.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict crabby80's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    387
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey guys

    Thanks a lot for your response some good pointers there.

    Do I need to run apache on a different port if I use serperate IP's?

    Crabby

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    Instwad of Apache try http://www.lighttpd.net

  6. #6
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy
    wwb_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    10,653
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is some voodoo one can do to let one run Apache and IIS (or IIS and Tomcat) on any port. I don't have the email handy, but I can see if I can find it. Basically, the issue is that IIS, by default, holds port 80 for 0.0.0.0 (the catch all addy), but you can force it to relinquish it's hold on that with a few utilities and a reboot or two.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •