SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member utopian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question All I want is to connect to my remote server

    I have a hosting service through a third party and they have set up remote access to my MySQL database for me. I downloaded the program off of www.mysql.com and ran mysql.exe and got a prompt. I then try to connect, but it won't let me. The prompt already looks like this: mysql>

    Then I type -h hostname -u username -p

    and it doesn't work. It says can't connect and results in an error. I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you,
    Utopian
    mattharper8@hotmail.com

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    BOSTON MA
    Posts
    335
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    some hosts do not allow remote connections for security reasons.

    have you tried telnet-ing to your site and *then* connecting to mysql?
    . . . chris

  3. #3
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mysql.exe is the actually MySQL program. You need a DB management program, such as MySQL Front

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member utopian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    half figured it out

    Well, I installed MySQL Front and got connected to my database, but I still don't see where I can just use a prompt. MySQL Front is more of a GUI and I just want a prompt. This still helps me out a little though and thank you for your help.

    I can't telnet either. I have remote access, but I can't telnet and then run the MySQL client off their machine. I think this is because my host has several users using MySQL on the same machine.

  5. #5
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry, I did not realise you were looking for a prompt. Your host offers you Telnet access, so you should be able to do it. Can you actually connect to your site through Telnet/SSH?

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member utopian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    16
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    no Telnet access?

    When I open telnet, I try typing in:
    open www.domain.com 3306
    it acts like it's connecting, then loses it.

    If I type in:
    open www.domain.com
    it refuses my connection

    I also tried:
    mysql -h hostname -u username -p
    and that didn't work either

    I'm thinking that my host doesn't support remote access if you want a prompt because I think if I'm understanding this corrently, Telnet is really the only way to do that... Telnet to my domain and then open the MySQL program from there. Thanks for your help. SitePoint is addicting!!!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •