SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Javascript Drop Down Menu / Flash Ontop Problem

    Hey. I am creating a fresh new video site for gamers that enjoy creating frag videos and clan videos... I am zooming along with it but I got this one problem I can't seem to fix and it's spending lots of my time getting nowhere trying to fix it!

    My problem is... I use a drop down menu I got from DynamicDrive.com in my menu system... The drop down won't show ontop of a flash object... And this is causing a problem. As you see here if you hover "Clans" in the header menu you will see that the menu gets hidden by the video player...

    Demo:
    http://www.fragreel.com/view_video.p...dcc509a6f75849

    Does anyone have any inputs on what I shall try next? I have tried adding param values to the object tag but they all failed miserably.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot imouto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Gotham
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There actually is a param value that should work. It's called wmode. I believe you also need to modify your CSS a little bit. Read this blog entry from Veerle Pieters. It discusses the very issue you are having and a few possible solutions.

    http://veerle.duoh.com/blog/comments...t_and_z_index/

    Hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hey i tried that already, wmode="transparent" dont work at all.... :s

  4. #4
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol this is so annoying me right now, just the fact i cant figure it out myself

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot imouto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Gotham
    Posts
    184
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by FragReel View Post
    hey i tried that already, wmode="transparent" dont work at all.... :s
    O rly? Seems to work for me.

    http://www.wuworkshop.com/FragReel/FragReel.htm

    I didn't even need to add any z-index stuff or anything to the CSS. All I did was add wmode in the embed element and as a param. Like so:

    Code:
    		<object classid="clsid:d27cdb6e-ae6d-11cf-96b8-444553540000" codebase="http://fpdownload.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" id="/YouTube_video/youtube" class="ontop" align="middle" height="370" width="450">
                <param name="allowScriptAccess" value="sameDomain">
                <param name="movie" value="csplayer.swf?xml=player.config.php&amp;video=1.flv&amp;key=923820dcc509a6f75849">
                <param name="quality" value="high">
                <param name="bgcolor" value="#ffffff">
                <param name="wmode" value="transparent">
                <embed src="FragReel_files/csplayer.swf" quality="high" bgcolor="#ffffff" wmode="transparent" name="/YouTube_video/youtube" allowscriptaccess="sameDomain" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" align="middle" height="370" width="450">
              </object>
    Personally I prefer (X)HTML & CSS to build a site instead of tables. And I'm definitely not a fan of DynamicDrive scripts but to each their own. *shrugs*

  6. #6
    Non-Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    awesome its showing ontop. now all i got to fix is the unlock flash object IE7 likes to do...

    i owe you one


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •