SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Expectation too HIGH? How much to expect when I hire a web development firm?

I recently hired a small web development firm to build a website for me. It's a site that contains fairly basic features like:
    - User Sign up
    - User Log in
    - Forum discussion
    - Post Comments

The web dev firm did an OK job, but it took about 3 months to get this simple site built, longer than I expected. Since this is my first time hiring a web development firm and with no comparison, I don't know how to evaluate their job.

The reason it took longer than expected is that we spent so much time back and forth on little issues like alignment, hyperlink coloring, navigation etc. Each time I ask the developer to change something, he would usually do a fine job, but very often something else that WAS working before would now have a bug. I would then locate the bug and ask the programmer to fix it. This happens over and over.

I understand that all the codes are linked, and sometimes things that aren't intended to be affected are changed unintentionally.

My question here is:
    Is this type of back-and-forth process normal as far as contracting a web development firm to build a website? Or should I be able to expect better from a professional web development firm?

Any feedback regarding your experience, especially with hiring a web development firm, would be HUGEly appreciated.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    An excellent web developer would have automated tests in place to attempt to prevent the same bug from occurring multiple times.

If we're talking about design bugs, as opposed to functionality bugs, then it's harder to automatically test those. Still, three months sounds excessive for what you outlined.

SitePoint Wizard silver trophy
    Mentioned
    19 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)